Technique Tuesday #28

Hi everyone!

Welcome to this weeks Technique Tuesday. In these posts I share a technique that can be applied to many forms of paper crafting ~ card making, scrapbooking, albums and tags. I alternate Technique Tuesday and Tuesday’s Tip just to change things up a bit..

This week’s technique: PERFECT PEARLS MIST.

Today I want to share with you how to make homemade Perfect Pearls shimmer mist and use it on a project. Shimmer mists add such a pretty touch to paper crafting projects but they tend to be a bit on the pricey side. I like to save money whenever possible when crafting so I tried making my own. Maybe you’d like to give it a try too!

You will need:  small spray bottle {must produce a fine mist} or mini mister, Perfect Pearls powder {by Ranger}{I used the Pearl color}, popsicle stick or spoon handle, water, re-inker {this is optional if you want colored shimmer mist}, required additional supplies to complete the project.

img_2983

 

 

Put a small scoop of Perfect Pearls powder into the spray bottle. Add 1 ounce of water and shake very well. Please note: If you are wanting colored shimmer mist, now is when you add the re-inker one drop at a time until you are satisfied with the color. Remember ~ you can always add more re-inker but you can’t remove any.  That’s it! The Perfect Pearls shimmer mist is ready to use.

img_2984

 

 

Please note: shake well before using each time and spray at least 12″ away from project to achieve a light misting and avoid droplets. Also, be sure to put whatever you are spraying in an empty box to catch the over spray. Or you could do the spraying outside. Otherwise, more than your intended project will be shimmery! 🙂

img_2991

 

 

I misted the embossed background panel before matting it with a piece of SU Blushing Bride card stock ~ the narrow borders of the mat are just to add a tiny bit of color to an otherwise all white card. After the butterflies were dry, I adhered them to the card {some with foam dots and some glued right to the card stock}. To finish it off, a matted sentiment and rhinestones were added for an extra bit of shine. The finished project has a very pretty shimmer to it but I’m sorry that it’s hard to pick it up in the photos.

img_2992

 

 

Hints:

*Perfect Pearls powder comes in many beautiful colors. Instead of using the Pearl colored powder and adding re-inkers to color it, you could always just mix colored perfect Pearls powder with water if you have them.

 

 

 

I hope you enjoyed this weeks tip. As always, please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions. See you next time!

 

 

 

*Please feel welcome to sign up as a follower to receives updates by email so you don’t miss a thing!

 

 

Until next time,

Erin

The Country Touch

Website: http://www.thecountrytouch.weebly.com

Email: ctrytch@telus.net

2 comments on “Technique Tuesday #28

  1. Kim HENDERSON says:

    Love the tip! My question is how long does the mist last before the sprayer gets clogged up? I find this a very frustrating occurrence with any shimmer mists I have bought from SU. If I don’t use them regularly they get gunked up and just don’t spray anymore- any tips you can give me?
    Thanks, Kim

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

    • ctrytch says:

      Hi Kim!
      Since I just mixed up a new bottle, I’m not sure if it will clog or not. Good point though! 🙂
      Maybe remove the sprayer from the bottle and spray the remaining spray from the tube in back into the bottle. Then put the sprayer tube into a shallow container of clear water and spray to clean it out being sure to empty it of the water before putting it back in the shimmer mist bottle. Does that make sense? Not sure if I’m wording it clearly. I will try this also! It sounds like kind of a hassle but it might help to prevent clogging.

      Like

Leave a Reply

