Tuesday’s Tip #17

Hi everyone!

Welcome to today’s Tuesday’s Tip. These posts are tips about different products, crafting and also ways of stretching the supplies that you already may have. I alternate Technique Tuesday and Tuesday’s Tip just to change things up a bit.

Today I want to share with you an idea for securely storing steel dies. Steel dies are definately not the easiest craft product to store. I find that they end up unorganized in the packages they came in or the small ones become misplaced on my desk. Many of the dies I have purchased, are attached to the packaging with double sided tape. I find that the tape leaves a bit of residue on the dies and tends to lose it’s “sticky” after some time. So, I decided to try a storage method that makes sure even the tiniest dies are securely stored in their package. Please note: This method of storing dies is featured on many, many blogs so I figured it must be a good solution and I wanted to share. It’s too bad credit can’t be given to the very first person that thought of this 🙂

I bought an inexpensive one side magnetic/one side adhesive sheet from the dollar store. Please note: I did look on amazon.ca and they have a few different kinds of magnetic sheets as well. I have not used any of them but they might be worth checking out if you are interested.

img_2966

 

 

For this example, I am using a coordinating stamp/die set.

img_2967

 

 

#1} Arrange the dies how you want them on the magnet sheet.

img_2968

 
#2}  Cut the sheet leaving just a bit of room around the edges.

img_2970

 

 

#3}  I put the cut sheet with the dies back in the original plastic package. Now when I need to use a die, I simply remove the magnetic sheet from the package for easy access to the needed die.

img_2973

 

 

Some coordinating stamp/dies sets however come stored  in separate packages. For example, the Stampin’ Up! bundles. The stamp set is in a hard plastic case and the die set is in a plastic envelope.

img_2974

 

 

I placed the dies on the magnetic sheet and cut it to size. Then removed the backing sheet to expose the adhesive and stuck it to the inside of the back cover of the stamp case. Now the set is kept together and ready the next time it’s needed. I still keep the plastic envelopes though ~ you never know when they might come in handy for something.

Please note: I do keep a piece of card stock in between the stamp set and dies when storing them to keep the dies from scratching the stamps. I removed it for you to see this storage method.

img_2975   img_2977

 

 

Hints:

*The back adhesive side of the magnetic sheet could be mounted onto some card stock {cut to size} for stability and then stored in plastic pockets/page protectors in a binder.

*Store the magnetic sheets/dies in a small bin or box with card stock dividers in between them.

 

 

 

*Please feel welcome to sign up as a follower to receives updates by email so you don’t miss a thing!

 

 

 

Until next time,

Erin

The Country Touch

Website: http://www.thecountrytouch.weebly.com

Email: ctrytch@telus.net

Leave a Reply

